Copyright © 2016 Assisi Church, Kakkanad ·  All Rights reserved.
(Site best viewed in 1366 x 768 Resolution)
Thenceforth, the Eucharistic liturgy began to be celebrated in the parish hall. It was during this period that parish family union and parish council were organized. In February 2002 Fr. Jose Chiramel came here as pro - vicar and the second phase of the project was started in right earnest. He ensured the co - operation of everyone in this sacred endeavor and the construction of the new church was completed by the end of 2004.

The new church was consecrated on December 12, 2004 by Cardinal Varkey Vithayathil, the Major Archbishop of the Syro- Malabar Church. Fr. Chiramel was replaced by Fr. Jacob Kakkattuchira in early 2006 and he was followed by Fr. Jetto Thottungal who took charge on march 17, 2007. Fr. Thottungal refurbished the parish office and took the first step in Modernizing it. Fr. George Nellissery took charge here on September 26 and in March 2010 he gave leadership to the renovation of the parish hall done at the cost of about Rupees 1.2 Million. The project of modernizing the parish office by computerizing all church documents were done. Fr.George Nellissery was replaced by Fr. Jose Thottakkara on March 16th 2014. 

Under his leadership, renovation of the church was completed which included:  Changing the asbestos roof of the church to aluminium, re-modification of the altar, ceiling of the church and stained glass figures. In addition, the front of the portico was extended with concrete extension to the maximum; and a new sound system was installed in the church. Bishop Jose Puthenveettil re-dedicated the renovated church on June 5, 2015. In connection with the Golden Jubilee Year of the Parish in 2016, a new flagmast in front of the church was errected and Bishop Thomas Chakiath blessed it on Oct 14, 2016. A 'Jubilee Smaraka Nidhi' was formed to mobilize funds for the future development of the Parish.
In 1960's there were not many Christians at Kakkanad. But it was the foresight of Cardinal Joseph Paracattil, the then Archbishop of Ernakulam that made this parish - church a reality. The land for the church was donated by late Mr. P. A. Francis and Mrs. Annie Francis Puthenangady. The foundation stone for the church was laid on September 8, 1966 and the construction was completed in time under the able leadership of the vicar of St. George Church, Edapally. It was consecrated on March 18, 1967 by Archbishop Parecattil.

In the beginning there was Holy Mass only on Sundays celebrated by the assistant parish priest of Edappally. Mention should be made of Fathers Joseph Puthenkudy, Varghese Kattackakathoott and Thomas Pynadath. During this period Mr. P. M Mathew Choolackal took care of the church. In 1968 the church got a resident priest in the person of Fr. Paul Payyappilly, a lecturer in Bharath Matha College. He was followed by Fr. Paul Manavalan, Fr. Thomas Puthussery and Fr. Antony Elamkuttichira. Some of the priests were not residing at the church but on January 22, 1983 Fr. Varghese Kattackakathoot came here as resident priest. Fr. Paul Thenayan and Fr. Thomas Malieckal had also a short stint here as pro-vicar. Fr. Joseph Kozhikkadan took change as pro - vicar in June 1988 and he was followed by Fr. Jose Painumkal in 1991 and Fr. Joseph Makkothekkatt in 1996. It was on march 19, 1995 that St. Joseph Shrine, the construction cost of which was met by Navodaya Appachan, was blessed. Fr. George Kannamkudam took charge as pro-vicar in 1998 and it was under his leadership the reconstruction of the church was undertaken. On November 5, 2000, the foundation stone for the new church was laid by Cardinal Varkey Vithayathil. The work progressed under the supervision of a committee chaired by Fr. Kanankudam. The first phase of the project, the construction of the parish hall and presbytery was completed in October 2001 and they were blessed by Bishop Thomas Chakiath.
Sri. M.A. Joseph Mannookkottayil

Sri. Baby George Vadakkinezhathu

Sri. Paul Joseph Mecheril

Sri. George Paul Mattakkattil

Sri. Jose Thomas Ayilookkunnel

Sri. Davis Mathew Edatharaparambil

Sri. Shabu Joseph Chakiathmooda

Sri. Vipin Thomas Ayyarappilly
Rev. Sr. Asha SSS

Rev. Sr. Sherly MSJ

Smt. Fancy Mathew Kanjirathummoottil

Smt. Linda John Manjooran

Smt. Liji Bobby Vettukallumpurath

Smt. Manju Gijo Kalayathankal

Sri. George Theckepera (Invitee)
Phone: 0484 - 2422619,   Mobile: +91 9947246688
St. Francis Assisi Church, Kakkanad

(Archdiocese of Ernakulam - Angamaly)